Back 

School s Out For Summer Partnering Up to Feed Hungry Kids

School’s Out For Summer! Partnering Up to Feed Hungry Kids

Gilberto Mendoza 5/13/2014
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

School’s Out For Summer! Partnering Up to Feed Hungry Kid

Monday, May 19, 2014 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/  Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

Twenty-one million children rely on free and reduced school meals during the academic year. Only one out of six of these kids participate in the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Summer Food Service Program (SFSP), which addresses food insecurity among children and youth during the summer months when they are out of school.

This webinar features insights and perspectives from USDA, as this is one of their major priorities in 2014, and the Texas Hunger Initiative as an active stakeholder. The panelists will share their thoughts on how state legislators can come to the table and be active participants in improving the effectiveness of the program along with addressing state specific barriers that they are seeing on the ground in their districts.

Moderators

  • Senator Renee Unterman, Georgia  and Representative Dwight Evans, Pennsylvania, co-chairs of the NCSL Hunger Partnership

Speakers

  • Audrey Rowe, administrator for the USDA Food and Nutrition Service 
  • Kathy Webb, Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance
  • Jeremy Everett, director of Texas Hunger Initiative

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures