Back 

Reporting Child Abuse Stopping the Silence

Webinars

Archived Webinar

  • Title:
    Reporting Child Abuse 
  • Date:
    Monday, April 16, 2012
  • Time:
    1 p.m. ET
  • Cost:
    Legislators: Free
    Legislative staff: Free
    All others: $49
     

Legislators and Legislative Staff Reminder: You must login first to have access to your free copy of the archived recording.

Contact

webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use. Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Reporting Child Abuse: Stopping the Silence Webinar
Monday, April 16, 2012 
1 p.m. ET/ 12 Noon CT/ 11 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. PT

Buy Now

 

ARCHIVED RECORDING NOW AVAILABLE

 

 

 

PowerPoint

PowerPoint Presentation

 

The news about child sex abuse scandals at the end of 2011 could not have been more shocking. When policymakers went to look at statutes, though, some found something more disturbing—some state laws did not explicitly require people such as coaches and athletic directors who might have contact with children to report child abuse. Others did not specify if the requirement for school personnel to report suspected abuse included universities or colleges. Others were not clear about how to make a report or whether or not a report should be made to law enforcement. Our experts took a look at what state laws are under review and what actions states are taking in 2012. 

Panelists:

  • Senator Dan Foster, West Virginia
  • Senator Kim Ward, Pennsylvania
  • Sheri Steisel, National Conference of State Legislatures
  • Kelly Crane, National Conference of State Legislatures

Moderator:

  • Gene Rose, executive vice president, Marmillion + Company

Resources:

Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect State Statute Overview

Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect: 2012 Introduced Legislation

Check out all of the upcoming NCSL webinars for 2012!

 

Share this: 
New Members Welcome
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures