Back 

Performance Based Funding for Higher Education

Webinar: Performance-Based Funding for Higher Education

11/25/2013
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Performance Based Funding for Higher Education

Friday, Dec. 13, 2013 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

Historically, many colleges and universities received state funding based on how many full-time equivalent students are enrolled at the beginning of the semester. This model provides incentives for colleges to enroll students—but not necessarily to help them graduate. A growing number of states are turning to performance-based formulas to provide some amount of funding based on indicators such as course completion, time to degree, transfer rates, the number of degrees awarded, or the number of low-income and minority graduates.  Many of the metrics used to evaluate the performance of colleges and universities are designed to produce long-term results (i.e. more degree completers). However, states also need to monitor whether institutions are actively building the necessary capacity to promote student success in the short-term. This webinar will highlight metrics and strategies to evaluate the short-term effects of performance-based funding formulas.

Archived Recording

Speakers

  • Matthew Hawkins, chief financial officer, Indiana Commission for Higher Education
  • David Price, policy research director, Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges
  • Russ Deaton, associate executive director for finance and administration, Tennessee Higher Education Commission

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures