The Fundamentals of Risk Management and Insurance

Heather Morton 4/2/2018
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

System Requirements
PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

The NCSL website does not utilize Flash technology, but our webinar provider does require the latest Flash plug-in. So if you would like to view the live webinar and have not updated your plug-in recently, visit the following URL:http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer.

Show System Requirements

The Fundamentals of Risk Management and Insurance: Viewed Through the Lens of Emerging Technology | Part I

Technological advances are occurring rapidly and the impact of those advancements on traditional insurance models is of concern to public policymakers. NCSL is pleased to collaborate with the Institutes Griffith Insurance Education Foundation to present a non-partisan and non-advocative discussion of the underpinnings of risk management, viewed through the lens of emerging issues such as: telematics technology and its impact on automobile insurance; wearable devices and their implications in insurance; and evolving consumer buyer patterns, driven by tech-based purchase options.

View the Webinar

Speakers

  • Frank Paul Tomasello, Institutes Griffith Insurance Education Foundation
  • Kevin Shaver, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

The Fundamentals of Risk Management and Insurance: Viewed Through the Lens of Emerging Technology | Part II

Tuesday, June 19, 2018 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ 12 p.m. MT/ 11 a.m. PT

Following the first webinar, this session is the last of two programs examining the fundamentals of risk management and insurance. Please join us for an hour-long primer on the role of regulation and legislation in insurance. NCSL is pleased to collaborate with The Institutes Griffith Insurance Education Foundation on this non-partisan and non-advocative discussion, viewed through the lens of emerging issues such as: blockchain; regulatory sandboxes; and autonomous vehicles.

VieW THE WEBINAR

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers

  • Frank Paul Tomasello, Institutes Griffith Insurance Education Foundation
  • James M. Carson, Ph.D., CPCU, CLU, ARM, Daniel P. Amos Distinguished Professor of Insurance, Terry College of Business, University of Georgia