Back 

Webinar The Model Aquatic Health Code MAHC

Webinar: The Model Aquatic Health Code (MAHC)

Doug Farquhar 12/10/2013
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

The Model Aquatic Health Code (MAHC)

Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2013 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

The CDC is working with public health and industry representatives across the United States to prevent drowning, injuries, and the spread of recreational water illnesses at public swimming pools and spas by building a Model Aquatic Health Code (MAHC). The MAHC will be a guidance document that can help local and state authorities make swimming and other water activities healthier and safer. The MAHC will serve as a model and guide for local and state agencies needing to update or implement swimming pool and spa code, rules, regulations, guidance, law, or standards governing the design, construction, operation, and maintenance of swimming pools, spas, hot tubs, and other treated or disinfected aquatic facilities.

Speakers

  • Michael Beach, associate director for healthy water, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Doug Sackett, director, Model Aquatic Health Code; assistant director (retired), Bureau of Community Environmental Health & Food Protection, New York State Department of Health
  • Franceen Gonzalez, vice president, Whitewater West Industries

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

Share this: 
Fall Forum 2014
State Vote
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures