Safe School Environments: Chemical Safety

10/19/2015
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Safe School Environments: Chemical Safety

Friday, Oct. 16. , 2015 | 1 p.m. ET/ Noon CT/ 11 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. PT

Schools often provide students their first experiences with chemicals. Schools also provide students their first experience with chemical safety. Use of chemicals in science classes, pesticides on school grounds, use of cleaning products all affect the health of the school environment. Several federal agencies are involved with chemical safety in schools including the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

This webinar introduces legislators to efforts by the CDC, ATSDR and EPA to ensure that chemicals used in schools are handled safely and responsibly by the students. ATSDR research presents the extent of school chemical releases and how schools respond to chemical threats. The CDC discusses use of mercury in schools, and the EPA highlights successful chemical management in high school science departments.

‚ÄčView Webinar

Complete PowerPoint Presentation.

Speakers

  • Ayana Anderson, MPH, ATSDR research on mitigation of school chemical releases, LT, U.S. Public Health Service Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) | Presentation
  • Ana Pomales Schickli, Mercury in Schools, Health Education and Community Involvement coordinator, ATSDR | Presentation
  • Dwight Peavey, Ph.D., Chemical Releases in School Laboratory Settings, senior scientist, US EPA, Region 1, Boston | Presentation