The Future of the Electric Grid: Energy Consumer as Energy Producer

2/9/2015
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

The Future of the Electric Grid: Energy Consumer as Energy Producer

Thursday, March 5, 2015 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/  Noon PT

Commercial, industrial and residential consumers are investing in technologies to increase energy efficiency, generate their own energy and shape energy demand.

While these efforts can be beneficial for utilities and their customers, the rapid growth of these technologies introduces new challenges by increasing variability in the system and creating two-way energy flows.

A transactive energy system is one that relies on a market-based approach to address these challenges, promoting grid reliability while reflecting the evolving role of customers as both generators and consumers. This webinar will explore transactive energy systems and what they mean for customers, utilities and state policymakers.

View Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator

  • Representative Tom Sloan, Kansas

Speakers

  • Mark Knight, CGI Utilities
  • Ronald Melton, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory | PRESENTATION

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet