Back 

Reliability Risk and Energy Diversity Webinar

Reliability, Risk and Energy Diversity Webinar

3/25/2014
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

view webinar

Reliability, Risk and Energy Diversity

Thursday, April 17, 2014 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/  Noon PT

The nation’s energy mix is changing quickly. The retirement of coal power plants, growth of natural gas, rising renewable energy production and the threat of nuclear plant retirement have created an environment that may pose a risk to a reliable electric grid. The cold of last winter’s polar vortex placed great strain on the grid in much of the Midwestern and Northeastern U.S., bringing some to question whether the current mix, combined with existing infrastructure and market design, will make it more difficult to keep the lights on during severe weather or other events that may challenge the grid. The webinar looks at the risks posed by the changing mix, explores how the polar vortex event severely challenged some parts of the grid and discusses a variety of solutions. Speakers include representatives from regional transmission organizations, including ISO-New England and PJM Interconnection.

Speakers

Share this: 
NCSL Summit Resources
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures