Growing Efficient Economies: Removing Utility Disincentives for Energy Efficiency

2/18/2015
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Growing Efficient Economies: Removing Utility Disincentives for Energy Efficiency

Thursday, Feb. 12 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

Efficient economies are more productive as they use less energy for each dollar of economic output produced.   

Utilities that take advantage of cost-effective energy efficiency opportunities decrease the costs of the energy system by reducing the number of new power plants that are needed and saving businesses and consumers money.  However, regulatory models in many states reward utilities for producing and selling more energy, making it difficult for them to recover costs when they sell less. This throughput incentive discourages utility efficiency investments, which results in higher energy expenses for consumers and businesses and slower economic growth.

A number of states have changed their regulatory structure to allow utilities to benefit when they actively pursue energy efficiency. This session will explore decoupling, lost revenue adjustment and other policy solutions that help utilities lower energy costs.

Speakers:

  • Richard Sedano, Principal and US Programs Director, Regulatory Assistance Project | PRESENTATION
  • Janice Berman, Senior Director of Energy Efficiency Strategy, Pacific Gas & Electric | PRESENTATION

‚ÄčView Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.


System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet