PreElection Party Control of Legislatures

2010 Election Note

Four states--Louisiana, Mississippi, New Jersey and Virginia--and three Senates--Kansas, New Mexico and South Carolina--do not have legislative elections in 2010. The Nebraska legislature is unicameral and nonpartisan. Live 2010 post-election results are based on unofficial results pending certification by their respective election officials.


Follow NCSL's Election Coverage

2010 Pre-Election Party Control of State Legislatures

Get Microsoft Silverlight

In this video, NCSL's Tim Storey gives us a quick recap of the historic Republican sweep of state houses. This map shows control of state legislatures before the Nov. 2, 2010, election. There are 6,115 seats in 46 states up for election. There are 7,382 total state legislative seats.

Republican Democratic Divided Nonpartisan Undecided


Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox


7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800


444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2015 by National Conference of State Legislatures