Webinar: A Preview of Education Week’s Quality Counts 2016

1/4/2016
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

A Preview of Education Week’s Quality Counts 2016

Wednesday, Jan. 13, 2016 | 4 p.m. ET/ 3 p.m. CT/ 2 p.m. MT/ 1 p.m. PT

The 2016 edition of Education Week's Quality Counts report—Called to Account: New Directions in School Accountability—was released on January 7. Don't miss this opportunity to engage with NCSL and EdWeek experts as they dive deeply into the analysis and findings of the 2016 Quality Counts.

The 20th annual edition of Quality Counts continues the tradition of tracking key indicators and grading the states on their performance and outcomes. This year’s installment examines how new state and federal strategies are transforming the assessment of school performance and reshaping the consequences for poor results. As the newly enacted Every Student Succeeds Act — the long-awaited successor to the federal No Child Left Behind Act — raises fresh questions about the future direction of accountability, Education Week journalists explore options for holding schools to high standards while simultaneously improving student achievement. To complement the report’s journalism, the Education Week Research Center conducted an original analysis of student achievement in the No Child Left Behind era, which highlights results on the National Assessment of Educational Progress from 2003 to 2015. The analysis examines overall achievement, poverty-based gaps, and trends over time. This year’s report issues overall grades for the nation and states and also features newly updated 50-state grades in three of the areas monitored by the report on an ongoing basis: the Chance-for-Success Index, K-12 Achievement Index, and school finance. To provide a comprehensive perspective on state performance, summative grades integrate results for all three of those categories.  

Register now

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers

  • Mark Bomster, assistant managing editor, Education Week

  • Alexandra Harwin, research analyst, Education Week Research Center

  • Sterling Lloyd, senior research associate, Education Week Research Center

  • Chris Swanson, vice president for research & development, Editorial Projects in Education

  • Holly Yettick, director, Education Week Research Center

  • Michelle Exstrom, program director, NCSL

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet