EdWeek Quality Counts: Takeaways for Legislators

1/25/2017
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

EdWeek Quality Counts: Takeaways for Legislators

Wednesday, Feb 8, 2017 | 2 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. CT / Noon MT / 11 a.m. PT

In January, Education Week released its new report, "Quality Counts 2017: Under Construction – Building on ESSA’s K-12 Foundation."  The 21st edition of the annual report examines the challenges and opportunities policymakers face in putting the Every Student Succeeds Act into practice.

To complement the report’s journalism, the Education Week Research Center asked teachers and district leaders to share their views on the ESSA transition as part of a nationwide survey.

As always, Quality Counts’ report card evaluates the states across a range of indicators. This year’s report issues overall grades and also features newly updated 50-state grades in two of the areas monitored by the report on an ongoing basis: the Chance-for-Success Index and school finance.

Learn about this year’s state rankings, what your states’ stats mean for ESSA implementation, and what educators across the country are thinking about this year.

Watch the recorded webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers

  • Holly Yettick, director, Education Week Research Center
  • Mark Bomster, deputy managing editor, Education Week
  • Sterling Loyd, assistant director, Education Week Research Center

System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet