Back 

Juvenile Life Without Parole State Action

Juvenile Life Without Parole State Action

4/14/2014
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Juvenile Life Without Parole: Miller v. Alabama - State Action

Friday, April 11, 2014 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/  Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

On June 25, 2012, the U.S. Supreme Court, in Miller v. Alabama, ruled that mandatory life sentences without the possibility of parole for juveniles violate the Eighth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. In the wake of the decision, states with mandatory sentencing structures have had to determine how to adjust their laws to comply with Miller and also decide whether the ruling applies retroactively to current prisoners who were given mandatory life sentences as juveniles. Listen to this webinar to learn how states have taken action to address the questions left open by the Miller decision.   

view webinar

Speakers:

Senator Rick Jones, chairman, Michigan Senate Judiciary Committee

Representative Gerald Fox, chairman, Connecticut Joint Committee on Judiciary

Moderator:

Rich Williams, policy specialist, Criminal Justice Program, NCSL
 

Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Policy & Research Resources

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures