Juvenile Justice 2015 Webinar: Status Offense Reform

2/18/2015
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Juvenile Justice 2015 Webinar: Status Offense Reform

Friday, March 20, 2015 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

Every year thousands of juveniles are processed in court and spend time in detention facilities for committing status offenses. A “status offense” is an act that would not be punishable if committed by an adult, such as truancy, violating curfew or running away. Studies have shown that using detention for low-level offenses can lead to deeper juvenile justice system involvement and higher rates of recidivism. In response, state legislatures are adopting policies that divert youth who commit status offenses from the system to community-based programs designed to address the underlying causes for their behavior. Listen to this webinar to learn about state legislative status offense priorities and reforms and the impact such policies have on juvenile populations and practitioners.

 

Moderator

  • Rich Williams, policy specialist, Criminal Justice Program, NCSL

Speakers

  • Allie Meyer, senior program associate, Vera Institute of Justice, New York
  • Naoka Carey, Executive Director, Citizens for Juvenile Justice, Massachusetts 
  • Rachel Bingham, Executive Officer, Administrative Office of the Courts, Kentucky