Capitol Ideas

Capitol Ideas is a periodic listing of story ideas and background information from new NCSL research. For more information, contact NCSL's Press Team.

States Deal With Drug "Spice"

The drug most commonly known as “Spice,” “K2” or “Genie,”  is drawing attention in state capitols across the country. At least 10 state legislatures have passed measures this year to outlaw this drug. Listen to our podcast with NCSL criminal justice policy analyst, Alison Lawrence, to learn how the drug is spreading across the United States, where people are buying it legally and why state legislatures are having to craft new laws to make it illegal. More


Tomorrow: Election Webinar, Just for Journalists

Get your questions answered and hear the last projection on state legislative elections and ballot measures during this free webinar for members of the media. NCSL’s StateVote 2010 webinar, presented by State Legislatures magazine, will be tomorrow, Oct. 28 at 8:30a.m.  PT / 9:30 a.m. MT / 10:30 a.m. CT/ 11:30 a.m. ET. To join NCSL's elections experts Jennifer Bowser and Tim Storey during this 60-minute webinar, just register onlineMore


On Their Way to Washington?

NCSL is following the number of current and former state legislators who are running for the 112th Congress. In addition, we have a list of state legislators that have been elected to Congress and the White House. More


State Pension Plans

This new NCSL report summarizes selected state pensions and retirement legislation enacted from January through October 2010. It allows reporters to see how other states have addressed issues that could arise anywhere. The report is organized according to the topics that legislatures addressed in 2010.  More


Cyber Stalking Laws

Law enforcement agencies estimate that electronic communications are a factor in up to 40 percent of all stalking cases. Forty-seven states now explicitly include electronic forms of communication within stalking or harassment laws.  More