Hot Issues 2015 Webinar Series

2/23/2015

webinar graphicNCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Hot Issues 2015 Webinar Series

You’ll be ready to confront some of the hottest issues to come before your legislature this session when you tune in to this February webinar series. Hear about top and emerging issues in Health, Education, Criminal Justice, Transportation, Energy and Environment and Fiscal policy. Sign up for one or all of them.  They’re informative, interesting and free.

System Requirements
PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

The NCSL website does not utilize Flash technology, but our webinar provider does require the latest Flash plug-in. So if you would like to view the live webinar and have not updated your plug-in recently, visit the following URL:http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer.

Show System Requirements

WEBINAR SERIES

Hot Issues in Health | Feb. 20

Friday, Feb. 20, 2015 | Noon ET/ 11 a.m. CT/ 10 a.m. MT/  9 a.m. PT

Health issues are some of the most costly and complex that state legislators confront each year. Tune into this webinar on Hot Issues in Health and hear the latest on:

  • How states are improving their return on investment in Medicaid
  • What’s new with insurance and Exchanges
  • How telehealth can help expand access to care
  • Childhood immunization policies in light of the measles outbreak
  • Blockbuster prescription drugs and what they mean for states
  • Health cost containment trends
  • Emerging marijuana and e-cigarette issues

Speakers

  • Martha King, group director, Health Program, NCSL
  • Dick Cauchi, program director, Health Program, NCSL
  • Josh Ewing, policy specialist, Health Program, NCSL
  • Kristine Goodwin, program manager, Health Program, NCSL
  • Melissa Hansen, program principal, Health Program, NCSL
  • Karmen Hanson, program manager, Health Program, NCSL
  • Tahra Johnson, policy associate, Health Program, NCSL
  • Ashley Noble, policy associate, Health Program, NCSL

View Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Criminal Justice: Body Cameras for Police? | Feb. 20

Friday, Feb. 20, 2015 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/  11 a.m. PT

Recent high-profile confrontations between law enforcement officers and the public have sparked legislative interest in identifying solutions that boost the public’s confidence in police while improving officer safety. Equipping officers with body cameras is one measure being discussed in statehouses nationally. Studies show body cameras can reduce incidents of police force, as well as citizen complaints against officers. Join this webinar to learn the costs and benefits of implementing body camera programs and the issues being addressed in state and federal legislation.

Speakers

  • Rich Williams, policy specialist, Criminal Justice Program, NCSL
  • Susan Frederick and Jennifer Arguonzoni, State-Federal Relations, NCSL 

View Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Hot Issues in Education | Feb. 23

Monday, Feb. 23, 2015 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/  11 a.m. PT

Everyone’s talking about the hottest issues in education. Find out what they are, why they matter, and the newest ideas for making sound policy decisions.  Join the discussion in this webinar designed to make you better informed about the education topics you’re sure to face this session.

  • Learn about policy ideas to make college affordable.
  • Discuss free community college and what it means for states.
  • Find out how to protect student privacy.
  • Weigh in on the state and federal debate over student testing.

Speakers

  • Julie Bell, group director, Education Program, NCSL
  • Sunny Deye, program principal, Education Program, NCSL
  • Michelle Exstrom, program director, Education Program, NCSL
  • Suzanne Hultin, policy specialist, Education Program, NCSL
  • Lee Posey, senior committee director, State-Federal Relations, NCSL
  • Dan Thatcher, senior policy specialist, Education Program, NCSL
  • Dustin Weeden, policy specialist, Education Program, NCSL

View Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Hot Fiscal Issues | Feb. 27

Friday, Feb. 27, 2015 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/  11 a.m. PT

Budget and tax issues take on a new twist in this webinar on hot fiscal issues. You’ll learn about the policy implications and what states are doing about some new issues, and what the federal budget means for states. Find out the latest on:

  • Virtual Currencies
  • Powdered Alcohol
  • State Taxation of E-cigarettes
  • State Sponsored Retirement Savings Plans for Non-Public Employees
  • Affiliate Nexus Laws
  • Federal Budget Update

Speakers:

  • Heather Morton, program principal, Fiscal Affairs Program, NCSL
  • Mandy Rafool, program principal, Fiscal Affairs Program, NCSL
  • Luke Martel, program manager, Fiscal Affairs Program, NCSL
  • Jeff Hurley, committee director, State-Federal Relations, NCSL
  • Max Behlke, manager, State-Federal Relations , NCSL

View Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Hot Issues in Energy and Transportation | Feb. 27

Friday, Feb. 27, 2015 | 3:30 p.m. ET/ 2:30 p.m. CT/ 1:30 p.m. MT/  12:30 p.m. PT

  • States are experimenting with innovative ideas to fund transportation projects. Find out how these projects are helping states leverage their money and partner with the private sector.
  • Hydraulic fracturing and the use of horizontal drilling have dramatically increased domestic oil and natural gas production. Find out how states are tapping the expansive economic potential while ensuring that the practice is well-regulated and protects public health and the environment. 
  • Pending EPA greenhouse gas regulations may require serious changes to energy production in many states.  Explore the challenges presented by the rule and see what actions states are taking.

 

Speakers:

  • Glen Andersen, program director, Energy Program, NCSL
  • Kristy Hartman, senior policy specialist, Energy Program, NCSL
  • Ben Husch, committee director, State-Federal Relations, NCSL
  • Kevin Pula, research analyst, Transportation Program, NCSL

View Webinar

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.