State Legislative Back to School Coordinators Roster

1/11/2016

The following people were designated by their legislative leaders to coordinate the America's Legislators Back to School Program activities in their state.  Coordinators , if no name appears from your chamber or changes need to be made, please contact your legislative leadership or email NCSL at BTSP@ncsl.org for more information.

Teachers , do you want a legislator to visit your school and no coordinator is appointed for your state?  Teachers and principals can contact their state legislators directly.  To find out who represents you in your legislative district, check the following Web site and have your 9-digit zip code ready.   http://www.vote-smart.org

Please email BTSP@ncsl.org if there are any udates to the information in this roster. 

The box allows you to conduct a full text search or type the state name.

State Legislative Coordinators by Chamber
State House/Assembly Senate

Alabama

Clay Redden
Public Information Officer
House of Representatives
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 242-4753
clay.redden@alhouse.gov

Tom Walker
Executive Director
The Citizenship Trust & American Village
P.O. Box 6
Montevallo, AL 35115
(205) 665-3535
twalker@americanvillage.org

 

Michael Murphy
Public Information Director
Senate
State House 7th Fl
Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 242-7836
senate.info@mindspring.com

Alaska

Pamela A Varni
Executive Director
Administrative Services
Legislative Affairs Agency
State Capitol, Rm. 3
120 4th Street
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
(907) 465-3800
pam.varni@akleg.gov

Pamela A Varni
Executive Director
Administrative Services
Legislative Affairs Agency
State Capitol, Rm. 3
120 4th Street
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
(907) 465-3800
pam.varni@akleg.gov

Arizona

 

 

Arkansas

Buddy Johnson
Parliamentarian
Arkansas House of Representatives
State Capitol, Room 350
500 Woodlane
Little Rock, AR 72201-1089
(501) 682-7771
buddy.johnson@arkansashouse.org

John Reed
Public Information Officer
Arkansas Senate
State Capitol, Room 320
500 Woodlane
Little Rock , AR 72201
(501) 682-5954
john.reed@senate.ar.gov

California

 

 

Colorado

Susan Liddle
Constituent, Library & Visitor Services
Colorado Legislative Council
Colorado Legislature
200 East Colfax, Room 029
Denver, Colorado  80203
(303) 866-2408
susan.liddle@state.co.us

Susan Liddle
Constituent, Library & Visitor Services
Colorado Legislative Council
Colorado Legislature
200 East Colfax, Room 029
Denver, Colorado  80203
(303) 866-2408
susan.liddle@state.co.us

Connecticut

Dawn Niles
Senior Legislative Assistant
Office of House Speaker
Connecticut General Assembly
Legislative Office Building, Suite 4100
300 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT  06106

(860) 240-0082
dawn.niles@cga.ct.gov

Teri Gavigan
Executive Assistant
Connecticut General Assembly
Legislative Office Building, Room 3300
300 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106
(860) 240- 8625
teri.gavigan@cga.ct.gov

Delaware

Sarah E. Wootten
Delaware General Assembly
411 Legislative Avenue
Dover, DE 19901
(302) 744-4257
Sarah.wootten@state.de.us

 

District of Columbia

 

 

Florida

 

 

Georgia

Abbey Wicker
House Intern/Program Coordinator
322 State Capitol
18 Capitol Square, Atlanta, Georgia 30334
(404) 656-5020
abbey.wicker@house.ga.gov

 

Hawaii

 

Virginia Beck
Public Access Coordinator
Public Access Room
Hawaii State Legislature
State Capitol, Room 401
415 S. Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 587-0478
beck@capitol.hawaii.gov

 

Keanu Young

Assistant Public Access Coordinator

Public Access Room
Hawaii State Legislature
State Capitol, Room 401
415 S. Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 587-0478

k.young@capitol.hawaii.gov

Virginia Beck
Public Access Coordinator
Public Access Room
Hawaii State Legislature
State Capitol, Room 401
415 S. Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 587-0478
beck@capitol.hawaii.gov

 

Keanu Young

Assistant Public Access Coordinator

Public Access Room
Hawaii State Legislature
State Capitol, Room 401
415 S. Beretania Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
(808) 587-0478

k.young@capitol.hawaii.gov

Idaho

 

 

Jennifer Novak
Secretary of the Senate
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0081
(208) 332-1309
jnovak@senate.idaho.gov

Illinois

 

Garret Hill
Communications Analyst
Illinois House Republican Staff
Representative Ed Sullivan
700 North Lake Street, Suite 101
Mundelein, Illinois 60060
(847) 566-5115 (office) | (815) 790-0372 (cell)
GHill@hrs.ilga.gov

 

Indiana

 

 

Jennifer Mertz
Principal Secretary of the Senate
Indiana General Assembly
200 West Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 232-9421
jmertz@iga.in.gov

Iowa

 

Kathy Hanlon
Senior Research Analyst
Legislative Service Agency
State Capitol, 3rd Floor
1007 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines , IA 50319-0002
(515) 281-3847
kathy.hanlon@legis.iowa.gov

 

Rachelle Thomas
House Democratic Caucus Staff
State Capitol
1007 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319-0002
(515) 725-2061
rachelle.thomas@legis.iowa.gov

 

Jason Chapman
House Republican Caucus Staff
State Capitol Building
1007 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319-0002
(515) 281-3440
jason.chapman@legis.iowa.gov
 

Kathy Hanlon
Senior Research Analyst
Legislative Service Agency
State Capitol, 3rd Floor
1007 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines , IA 50319-0002
(515) 281-3847
kathy.hanlon@legis.iowa.gov

 

Bridget Godes
Policy Analyst
Iowa General Assembly
State Capitol Building
1007 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 281-3433
bridget.godes@legis.iowa.gov

 

Gannon Hendrick
Senate Republican Caucus Staff
State Capitol Building
1007 E. Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 281-4863
Gannon.hendrick@legis.iowa.gov

Kansas

 

 

 

Kentucky

 

Sheila Mason Burton
Legislative Record Compiler
Legislative Research Commission
Capitol Building Room 300
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-8100
sheila.mason@lrc.ky.gov

Sheila Mason Burton
Legislative Record Compiler
Legislative Research Commission
Capitol Building Room 300
700 Capitol Avenue
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-8100
sheila.mason@lrc.ky.gov

 

Louisiana

 

Lauren Russell
Deputy Communications Director
Louisiana House of Representatives
900 North 3rd Street
Baton Rouge LA 70804
(225) 342-9795
Russelll@legis.la.gov

Nanette Normand
Administrative Secretary
Resource Infrastructure Division
Louisiana Senate
900 N. 3rd St.
PO Box 94183
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9183
(225) 342-2425
normandn@legis.la.gov

Brenda Hodge
Communications Officer

Louisiana Senate
State Capitol Building
900 3rd Street
LA Senate Basement, Room B-264
Baton Rouge, LA 70804
(225) 342-9737
hodgeb@legis.la.gov

Maine

 

 

Maryland

 

Sandra Stump
Legislative Assistant
Delegate Adrienne A Jones, Speaker Pro tem
Maryland House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street Room 312
Annapolis, MD  2140
(410) 841-3391
sandra.stump@mlis.state.md.us

Honorable Jamie Raskin
State Senator
Senate Office Building, Room 122
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 841-3634
senatorjamieraskin@gmail.com

Massachusetts

 

Erin K. O’Connor
Staff Director
Office Of  Representative William C. Galvin
Chairman- House Committee on Personnel and Administration
Room 448    State House
Boston, MA    02133
(617) 722-2582
Erin.k.o'connor@mahouse.gov

Anne Ziaja
Executive Director
Senate Office of Education & Civic Engagement
State House, Room 70
24 Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02133-1053
(617) 722-1380
Anne.Ziaja@Masenate.gov

Michigan

 

   

Minnesota

 

David G. Surdez
Legislative Clerk
211 State Capitol
75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6748
david.surdez@house.mn

Jessica Tupper
Third Assistant Secretary of the Senate
75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Room 232 State Capitol
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-8854
Jessica.tupper@senate.mn

Mississippi

 

Tracy Bobo

Staff Librarian
Mississippi Legislative PEER Committee
Woolfolk Building
501 North West St., Suite 301-A
Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 359-1295
tracy.bobo@peer.ms.gov

Tracy Bobo

Staff Librarian
Mississippi Legislative PEER Committee
Woolfolk Building
501 North West St., Suite 301-A
Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 359-1295
tracy.bobo@peer.ms.gov

Missouri

 

 

 

Montana

 

Sonia Gavin
Legislative Information Resources Manager
Montana Legislative Services Division
PO Box 201706
Helena, MT 59620-1706
(406) 444-4848
sgavin@mt.gov

 

K’Lynn Sloan Harris
Audio-Video Coordinator
Montana Legislative Services Division
PO Box 201706
Helena, MT 59620-1706
(406) 444-3267
ksharris@mt.gov

Sonia Gavin
Legislative Information Resources Manager
Montana Legislative Services Division
PO Box 201706
Helena, MT 59620-1706
(406) 444-4848
sgavin@mt.gov

 

K’Lynn Sloan Harris
Audio-Video Coordinator
Montana Legislative Services Division
PO Box 201706
Helena, MT 59620-1706
(406) 444-3267
ksharris@mt.gov

Nebraska (Unicameral)

Heidi Uhing
Director, Unicameral Information Office
Nebraska Legislature
State Capitol
15th & K Street, 10th Floor
PO Box 94604
Lincoln , NE 68509
(402) 471-2788
huhing@leg.ne.gov

Bess Ghormley
Back to School Coordinator
Nebraska Legislature
Unicameral Information Office
State Capitol
15th & K Street, 10th Floor
PO Box 94604
Lincoln NE  68509
(402) 472-2788
bghormley@leg.ne.gov

 Nevada

 

 

 

 

 

New Hampshire

 

Eileen Kelly
Senior Legislative Policy Assistant
House Minority Office
107 North Main St. Room 307
New Hampshire State House
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-2136
eileen.kelly@leg.state.nh.us

 

New Jersey

 

Penny Gardner
Programs Manager
Office of Legislative Services
PO Box 68 State House Annex
125 West State Street
Trenton, NJ 08625-0068
(609) 847-3130
pgardner@njleg.org

 

Jennifer Leibert

Tour Program Educator

Office of Legislative Services

PO Box 68, State House Annex

125 West State Street

Trenton, NJ 08625-0068

(609) 847-3150

jleibert@njleg.org

 

Penny Gardner
Programs Manager
Office of Legislative Services
PO Box 68 State House Annex
125 West State Street
Trenton, NJ 08625-0068
(609) 847-3130
pgardner@njleg.org

 

Jennifer Leibert

Tour Program Educator

Office of Legislative Services

PO Box 68, State House Annex

125 West State Street

Trenton, NJ 08625-0068

(609) 847-3150

jleibert@njleg.org

 

 New Mexico

 

Lisa M. Ortiz
Leadership Analyst
Office of the House Minority Leader
Room 109 State Capitol Building
490 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 986-4782
lisa.ortiz@nmlegis.gov

 

New York

 

Honorable Barbara Clark
State Assemblywoman
547 Legislative Office Building
Albany, NY 12248
(518) 455-4711
clarkb@assembly.state.ny.us

 

North Carolina

 

Susan Whitehead 
LSO Executive Assistant

16 W. Jones Street, Room 2129
Raleigh, NC  27601-1030
(919) 733-7044
Susan.Whitehead@ncleg.net

Susan Whitehead 

LSO Executive Assistant

16 W. Jones Street, Room 2129

Raleigh, NC  27601-1030
(919) 733-7044

Susan.Whitehead@ncleg.net

North Dakota

 

 

Ohio

Krista West
LSC Fellow/Interim Outreach Coordinator
Majority Communications
Ohio House of Representatives
77 South High Street
Riffe Center, 14th Floor
Columbus OH 43215-6111
(614) 466-5007
krista.west@ohr.state.oh.us

 

Oklahoma

 

 

 

Oregon

 

 

 

Pennsylvania

 

Michele Corbin Rudloff
Assistant Director of Budgetary Affairs
Speaker's Office
139 Main Capitol
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 772-9951
mrudloff@pahousegop.com

 

Puerto Rico

 

 

Rhode Island

 

Randy Szyba
Supervisor
Legislative Press Bureau
State House, Room 20
82 Smith Street
Providence, RI 02903
(401) 222-3618
rszyba@rilin.state.ri.us

 

South Carolina

 

 

 

South Dakota

 


 


 

Tennessee

 

Lucy Wilson
House Research Analyst
Tennessee General Assembly
7th Floor Rachel Jackson Building
320 6th Avenue North, Nashville, TN  37243 
(615) 741-1100 EXT 44985
lucy.wilson@capitol.tn.gov

 

Patrick Boggs
Research Analyst
House Research Division
Tennessee General Assembly
7th Floor Rachel Jackson Building
320 6th Avenue North, Nashville, TN  37243      
(615) 741-1100 EXT 44991
patrick.boggs@capitol.tn.gov

Russell Humphrey

Chief Clerk of the Senate

State Capitol, 2nd Floor

Nashville, TN 37243

(615) 741-2730

russell.humphrey@capitol.tn.gov

Texas

 

 

Patsy Spaw
Secretary of the Senate
PO Box 12068
1400 Congress Avenue
Austin, TX 78701
(512) 463-0100
patsy.spaw@senate.state.tx.us

Utah

 

 

 

Vermont

 

 

 

Virginia

 

Jeffrey A. Finch
Deputy Clerk - Legislative Operations
Virginia House of Delegates
910 Capitol Street
PO Box 406
Richmond, VA 23219
(804) 698-1531
jfinch@house.virginia.gov

 

Jay Pearson
Legislative Education & Development Project Manager
Virginia General Assembly
910 Capitol Street
PO Box 406, Richmond VA  23219
(804) 698-1524
JPearson@house.virginia.gov

Nathan Hatfield
Assistant Clerk
Senate of Virginia
PO Box 396
910 Capitol Street
Richmond , VA 23218
(804) 698-7410
nhatfield@senate.virginia.gov

 

Bladen Finch
Senate Page Program Director and Civic Education Coordinator
Office of Legislative Information & Constituent Services
PO Box 396, Richmond VA  23218
(804) 698-7417
bfinch@senate.virginia.gov

Washington

 

Paula Rehwaldt
Civics Education Coordinator
Washington State House of Representatives
239 John L O’Brien Building
PO Box 40600
Olympia, WA  98504-0600
(360) 786-7993
Paula.Rehwaldt@leg.wa.gov

Emily McCartan

Civic Education & Intern Coordinator

Washington Senate

PO Box 40482

Olympia, WA  98504

360-786-7016

Emily.McCartan@leg.wa.gov

 

West Virginia

 

John Tice
Graphic Designer
West Virginia Legislature
Office of Reference & Information
State Capitol Complex, Rm MB-27, Bldg 1
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, WV 25305
(304)347-4855
john.tice@wvlegislature.gov

 

John Tice
Graphic Designer
West Virginia Legislature
Office of Reference & Information
State Capitol Complex, Rm MB-27, Bldg 1
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Charleston, WV 25305
(304)347-4855
john.tice@wvlegislature.gov

 

Wisconsin

 

Tammy Wehrle
Legislative Education and Outreach Officer
Senate
Wisconsin Legislature
PO Box 7882
Madison, WI  53707-7882

(608) 261-0533

tammy.wehrle@legis.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Wendy Madsen
Legislative Information Officer
Legislative Service Office
213 State Capitol Building
Cheyenne , WY 82002
(307) 777-7881
wendy.madsen@wyoleg.gov

 

Anthony Sara
Associate Legislative Information Officer
Legislative Service Office
213 State Capitol Building
Cheyenne , WY 82002
(307) 777-7881
anthony.sara@wyoleg.gov

 

Riana Davidson

Legislative Service Office
213 State Capitol Building
Cheyenne , WY 82002
(307) 777-7881

riana.davidson@wyoleg.gov

Wendy Madsen
Legislative Information Officer
Legislative Service Office
213 State Capitol Building
Cheyenne , WY 82002
(307) 777-7881
wendy.madsen@wyoleg.gov

 

Anthony Sara
Associate Legislative Information Officer
Legislative Service Office
213 State Capitol Building
Cheyenne , WY 82002
(307) 777-7881
anthony.sara@wyoleg.gov

 

Riana Davidson

Legislative Service Office
213 State Capitol Building
Cheyenne , WY 82002
(307) 777-7881

riana.davidson@wyoleg.gov

Additional Resources