Dealing With Difficulty: Converting Stakeholders and Colleagues Into Allies and Partners

11/7/2019

Thursday, Dec. 5, 2019 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

Our work inside legislatures invariably brings conflict—whether it be within our own offices, with other legislators or agencies, or with and among external stakeholders.

Even if the conflict itself is inevitable, our approach to mitigating, managing, and resolving it need not consume so much time and energy. In this fast-paced and interactive webinar, Larry Schooler will use his background and expertise in mediation and conflict management to guide you through a new approach to conflict resolution, both for your internal team and with competing public interests. You will learn how best to analyze conflict and how to tailor your approach, as well as how to create conditions for less conflict or conflict with less severity.

Register Now

Speaker

  • Larry Schooler is a mediator, facilitator and public engagement consultant for outside clients through Public Participation Partners and as a senior fellow for the National Civic League and the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life at the University of Texas. Schooler holds a bachelor's degree in history, a master's degree in conflict analysis and resolution and is pursuing a doctorate in the same field. He is the author of the manual "The 'Public' in Public Policy: Keys to a Successful Community Meeting" and a forthcoming book on the first Truth and Reconciliation Commission in the United States.