Back 

Blog

THE NCSL BLOG

08

By Claire Lewis

Do you ever wonder what’s in your water?

Water faucetFifteen percent of people in the United States consume drinking water from unregulated, private water systems that are not covered by the Safe Drinking Water Act or other federal water safety requirements. Unless the state or local government requires testing, private water users will not know what chemicals or hazards may exist in their water.

Your water may look clear, cool, and perfect, but it also may hold arsenic, uranium, lead, copper, pesticides or waste from concentrated animal feeding operations (CAFOs)– contaminants that can poison you. This water may harbor bacteria and other contaminants that are far above the national standards of safety.

Still feeling thirsty?

Quench your thirst for knowledge by tuning into NCSL’s webinar “Private Drinking Water Systems” on Friday at 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT/11 a.m. MT/10 a.m. PT to hear experts from the Centers for Disease Control, local government and industry explain the public health impacts of private drinking water systems and give strategies for keeping those systems safe for consumers. Register now for this FREE webinar and learn more about what lurks in your water.

Claire Lewis is a research analyst with NCSL's Environment and Natural Resources Program.

Email Claire

Posted in: NCSL, Public Policy
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to the NCSL Blog

Click on the RSS feed at left to add the NCSL Blog to your favorite RSS reader. 

Blog Archives | By Category

About the NCSL Blog

This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff. The blog is edited by NCSL staff and written primarily by NCSL's experts on public policy and the state legislative institution.

NAVIGATE

Share this: 
New Members Welcome
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures